Amanda Johnson

Love the life you have and have the life you want

This Moment Is Your Life

3 Comments

As Omar Khayyam said, “Be happy for this moment … this moment is your life.” Not the past or the future be it a day ago or 10 minutes from now, not our dreams or our regrets, not our job or our title or our relationship status or the stamps in our passport (or lack thereof) or the money we’ve acquired or the car we drive. This moment. This is life. And every person can experience a fulfilling life by acknowledging that life is happening right now.

Image

Perhaps it’s the fact that I took a huge, non-socially acceptable leap and quit my job a few months ago and now have more time on my hands than before, but this has never rang so true for me as it does now. To realize that this very moment IS my life is so freeing, lightening and refreshing.

Not all present moments seem so “ideal.” It can be difficult to accept that this moment is life if we are resisting this moment. And yet the reality remains the same — this moment is all there is and life is simply comprised of many of these moments.

I find that my life is so much easier and more joyful now that I allow myself to simply be in this moment and stop thinking I “ought” to be doing something else or putting pressure on myself for what is or isn’t happening.

My mission is to help others improve their experience of life. This means that I need to be here and now and not thinking about the woman who cut me off today or worrying about what the future may hold. I need to create space for each and every sensation, feeling and thought that I experience in this moment. I need to acknowledge it, feel it, accept it and then let it flow through me without judging it or identifying with it. That is the only way I can create space for the next moment and all that it has to offer. We can expand our possibilities this way and this way alone.

Now it is not always easy but it is based on a few very simple principles.

  • Strive to be 100% present in each and every moment (no matter what it is you are doing)
  • Accept everything as it happens in the moment (do not resist or label it)
  • Be open-minded to everything as it occurs (do not be confined by self-limiting beliefs)
  • Ask “is anything wrong in this very moment?” (not what happened 5 minutes ago or might happen next week)

This is not to say that you cannot set intentions (I prefer this to “goals”) or decide to make changes to your life situation. But until we can create space through acceptance, non-judgment and detachment, we are unable to make decisions based on the reality of the situation and not based out of fear, anxiety or another equally impractical emotion.

It’s not about the “should’s” or the “should not’s” — it is what it is. There is nothing to fear, doubt, stress over, worry about, anxiously await, or figure out. You are already living life — your life — right this moment. And this moment is all we ever have.

Who would you be if you allowed yourself to simply be in the moment and stop thinking you “ought” to be doing something else or putting pressure on yourself for what is or isn’t happening? Join the conversation by leaving a comment.

Author: Presence Matters

Amanda Johnson has one mission: to help people turn their critic into their ally so they can love the life they have and have the life they want. She does this through her work as a writer and presence coach. After years of struggling with depression, motivation and finding any purpose, Amanda made a choice to transform her experience of life. She realized that when she resisted, judged or attached to “what is” she suffered and that this is true for all of us. From this place, the idea to help others cultivate ease and joy through “Presence Matters" was born. Amanda is a seasoned professional with more than 10 years’ experience performing, educating, facilitating and consulting for Fortune 500 companies with the personal mission to reach and change lives for the better. Her passion for helping others—be it a 2nd-grader or a CEO—and her ability to connect with and inspire those she meets are unleashed by her wit, charm, and eloquence, making her message resonate deeply with her audience. For more information and to work with her, visit www.amandajohnson.tv.

3 thoughts on “This Moment Is Your Life

  1. I absolutely love your new outlook on life. It reminds me to get back into the “live each moment spirit.” I took a course in grad school from Jeremy Hunter, who teaches very similar principles to what you are learning. You may want to check him out: http://jeremyhunter.net/ He has a few meditation audios that you may find helpful.

    Like

  2. Won’t I get fired if I just sit here and not worry about doing my job? Or should I just go and do my job and enjoy it as it is my moment, oops; I said should. I guess that means I shouldn’t listen to myself fretting over doing my job and just live in this moment (screwing around on wordpress instead of working) oh but wait now; I said shouldn’t! Now I don’t know what to do!

    I’m sorry if I sound skeptical, I’m really not. I want inner peace (that’s how I found this site) I just don’t understand yet and am very confused. I just started reading untethered soul; hopefully I will find some answers, but for right now I really should get back to work 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you for your interest in my blog and for commenting, Mike. I can completely appreciate wanting inner peace and not quite understanding how to get there. Untethered Soul was my entry point, which I followed up with “The Power of Now” and “A New Earth” both by Eckhart Tolle. These resources, along with Byron Katie, have given me a lot of tools to use to stay in the moment and feel that sense of inner peace I have so long searched for. The greatest thing about it is that it is completely within my power and ability to have it this very moment. It truly is a choice. Of course we have jobs and obligations – though I did decide to quit a job that was not serving me and it has been amazing what I have manifested in my life since that has sustained me financially – but for me the most important thing is to live with joy, ease and peace in whatever it is we do – even if that is sitting at a job or writing a blog on WordPress or taking time to read information that helps me find peace. I wish you the best on this journey and trust that you already have all that you need to feel the inner peace you are looking for. Take time to breathe, release and honor each moment for what it is. The more I resist, the more I suffer. Please come back and read more, question more, seek more. And, at the end of the day, trust yourself to choose the path of least resistance for your life. Peace and love.

      Like

Leave a Reply

